DeWine Announces Additional Cabinet Picks

Jan 10, 2019

Governor-elect Mike DeWine has announced more selections for his Cabinet as he prepares to take office next week. For observers of the Ohio legislature, some of his choices might be familiar faces.

In an event Thursday morning, DeWine named state Sen. Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) as the new chancellor of higher education, and state Rep. Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville) to head the Ohio Department of Agriculture.

Some Cabinet picks are inside candidates. Laurie Stevenson will lead the Ohio Environmental Agency after serving as the deputy director for business relations. Meanwhile, Jack Marchbanks of the Ohio Department of Transportation will step up to the position of director.

Maureen Corcoran, a former policy director for the Ohio Department of Medicaid, will now lead the program after a stint as president of a health care consultancy. Ryan Gies will helm the Ohio Department of Youth Services.

Other Cabinet picks come from inside DeWine's circle as attorney general. The Ohio Department of Aging will be led by Ursel McElroy, the DeWine's current deputy director of education and policy. Clark County Prosecutor Andy Wilson will advise on criminal justice policy.

Lori Criss, who has long worked with behavioral health providers, will lead DeWine's opioid recovery efforts in the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services.

Veterans Services will be helmed by Maj. Gen. Deborah Ashenhurst, who served in the the Ohio National Guard for almost four decades. Attorney Stephanie McCloud will lead the Bureau of Workers Compensation.

The Republican is scheduled to be sworn in January 14. He won election in November with running mate Jon Husted, who will lead winning the new InnovateOhio office.

DeWine succeeds fellow Republican Gov. John Kasich.

DeWine has previously announced his picks for individuals to head the state prison system, Ohio's taxation and natural resources departments and the Ohio National Guard.

He's also put forward selections for the state's budget office and commerce and public safety departments.