Bipartisan Committee Begins Studying Transportation In Ohio

Jul 11, 2019

Ohio’s legislature has assembled a bipartisan working group to study how to improve the state's infrastructure.

The Road to Our Future Committee will contain a total of 10 members – five from the House and five from the Senate. The members will create a report on how best to utilize the nearly $870 million in revenue generated by the 10.5 cent gas tax increase, which took effect July 1.

State Rep. Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake) said they will work to address needs for both public and private transportation.

“We may be able to provide specific recommendations to help improve the utilization of our road systems as well as the operational efficiencies of the agencies that are responsible for maintaining, building and servicing those roads,” Greenspan said.

Other House members appointed to serve on the committee include state Reps. Stephanie Howse (D-Cleveland), Michael Skindell (D-Lakewood), Sara Carruthers (R-Hamilton) and Jon Cross (R-Kenton).

The creation of the committee was mandated in the transportation budget approved by the legislature in April. The budget bill calls for eliminating the front license plate requirement in Ohio by next summer. The committee will look into advanced technology as a replacement.

The group has 18 months to complete its work.